Crispy Fenugreek Crackers (Baked Methi Mathri)

15 Mar

This is my first blog for the Daring Baker challenge. I had been patiently waiting for a good few weeks when the February 2013 challenge was declared. Sarah from All Our Fingers in the Pie was our February 2013 Daring Bakers’ host and she challenges us to use our creativity in making our own Crisp Flatbreads and Crackers!

My tryst with baking had only been a sweet journey till a few weeks ago, so I was very excited at this chance to bake something savory. I returned from a trip to India, a couple of months ago, and, I am almost out of my stash of Indian snacks, so I jumped at this opportunity and decided to go for crispy fenugreek crackers (or methi mathri). There was however, just one problem, these crackers are deep-fried and not baked, so I had to do a lot of homework, dig up recipe’s and even try out a few of them before I finally arrived the best combination.  Also, I wanted these crackers to be healthy and therefore I wanted to use very little all-purpose flour and butter, with the best possible taste.

Crispy fenugreek crackers with mint chutney

So, it goes without saying that this week was a very hectic work week for me, especially with one less hour to sleep, thanks to day light saving that came into effect from Sunday! After a series of trials that lasted over a week and half, I decided that cooking or baking wasn’t very different than chemistry lab sessions. One only needs to know which elements result in which compounds and must definitely be aware of  which combination can cause an explosion!

So, without further ado, here is the recipe:

     INGREDIENTS 

  • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 tbsp semolina
  • 1/4 cup hot melted butter
  • 1/2 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp sugar
  • 1-2 tsp dried fenugreek leaves
  • salt to taste

Crispy fenugreek crackers with mint chutney

Pre-heat the one to 350 degree F. Oil the baking sheets or line them with parchment paper.

In a bowl mix together all the dry ingredients. Add hot melted butter to this mixture and crumble through it lightly. Do not knead. Slowly add water and knead to create a hard dough. My mother emphasized a great many times to make sure that the dough wasn’t soft or even a little soft, and that its a hard dough that makes these mathri’s awesome! So, I added water a little at a time and kneaded it diligently. Remember, too much kneading will make the crackers hard, so knead them lightly.

Once, the dough is ready, divide it into small portions and using a rolling pin, roll them out uniformly. Use a cookie cutter to cut these out into desired shape and lay them a few inches apart on the lined/oiled baking sheet. Bake them for 10-15 minutes or till they turn golden brown and then switch sides. Cool the crackers on a wire rack and store in a dry, air-tight container.

These taste best when eaten with mango pickle, mint chutney, tomato ketchup and/or with a hot cup of tea. Try them out and let me know what you think of them!

REFERENCES

3 Responses to “Crispy Fenugreek Crackers (Baked Methi Mathri)”

  1. mydearbakes March 15, 2013 at 1:19 pm #

    I can tell from the pictures that your bakes must be very yummy! =)

  2. myninjanaan March 15, 2013 at 2:25 pm #

    I loveeeeeeee mathri! And these look soo freakin’ delicious! I also love that you baked them as opposed to frying them; therefore allowing you to eat quite a few without feeling guilty 😉

Leave a Reply

