Strawberry Shortcake

22 Mar

Have I ever mentioned before that my husband is a huge fan of strawberries! Well this blog  is dedicated to how I finally succeeded in making, Strawberry Shortcake. Last week, when I baked cream scones and informed him that I could use them to make strawberry shortcake, he immediately jumped up at the idea of it. With his cousin’s visiting us for the first time, it seemed to be a good enough reason to indulge in some fresh strawberries and whipped cream (oh yes, heavy whipped cream!!).

Strawberry shortcake

Usually I count my calories, but that day I decided to let go and have some fun, afterall I was eating berries too! I am surrounded by awesome cooks, so I need to think about the outcome before I start cooking/baking just to be sure I will have something presentable ready and the end of the journey. Well, this journey was definitely worth all the risk, in fact  this now is one of my most reliable recipes.

INGREDIENTS

Scones

Bake a fresh batch of Cream Scones.

Topping

  • 1 cup cold heavy whipping cream
  • 2 tbsp sugar

Refrigerate the bowl and the hand mixer’s whipping attachments for 10-20 minutes. Add, sugar and cream into the bowl and whip with the hand mixer till stiff peaks appear and our whipped cream is now ready. Refrigerate it and it should be good for a couple of hours.

DSCN2662

Filling

  • 2 pounds of fresh strawberries
  • 1/4 cup of sugar

Wash, and cut strawberries into small pieces. Using a fork mash 1/3 amount of strawberries and add them to the cut ones. This makes the filling juicy. Sprinkle sugar over the bowl of strawberries, mix it with a single stroke and refrigerate 

Strawberry filling

After the scones have cooled down, cut them into half using a butter knife or pry them open with hands. Place the bottom half of the scone on the plate and top it with a layer of strawberry filling. I prefer a generous helping of strawberries as first layer, this ensures that the scone base absorbs the juices, but adding too much of it may result in the base getting soggy so I would say be careful about not drowning the scone. Top it with a layer of whipped cream and place the upper half of scone on this setup.

Strawberry shortcakeYour star berry shortcake is now ready! I was having so much fun layering it up that I added another layer of whipped cream and strawberries to it. See the pictures for yourself and trust me, they were as good as they look. For all those people out there who watch their calories, you can skip the second layer of topping altogether and replace it with just the strawberries. Its yummy either way!

So, that’s another item off my baking bucket list (which has almost everything on it, and that’s why I don’t maintain it anywhere :P)! I never knew small things in life could be so fulfilling, not to mention my husband is pretty happy with my little adventures in kitchen and he is a good cook himself. I am already looking forward to another weekend of baking. Its pure bliss, I tell ya!

That said, bake away!! Catch you soon with another post!!

(reference: joyofbaking)
7 Responses to “Strawberry Shortcake”

  1. myninjanaan March 23, 2013 at 2:19 am #

    My goodness these look delicious! I’ve had no good luck with scones, but yours seem so good that I feel motivated to try my hand at them again 🙂

    • bakingfever March 23, 2013 at 7:23 pm #

      Thanku! It would be good to know how they turned out for you, when you try them 🙂

  2. sarita ratti March 23, 2013 at 2:53 pm #

    i luv ur blog….mouth watering receipe…

  3. Mummy Bear March 30, 2013 at 2:03 pm #

    This looks so divine I have nominated you for the Super sweet Bloggers award. Check out http://bakingforbears.wordpress.com/2013/03/30/how-not-to-make-fudge/ for more information! x

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Weekend Bake – Pineapple Upside Down Cake | The Baking Fever - April 1, 2013

    […] it for a couple of minutes before serving. Also, I served it with fresh whipped cream (Refer Strawberry Shortcake for the recipe), but I am sure it would taste good with vanilla ice-cream as […]

  2. Savarin | The Baking Fever - April 27, 2013

    […] of the cake is usually filled with pastry cream and fruits, but lazy as I am, I decided to go for whipped cream and added raspberries as well. However, since the cake tasted good even with whipped cream, I have […]

Leave a Reply

