Banana-nut Muffin

6 May

I have always loved banana nut muffins. I love the moist, spongy muffins with small crunchy pieces of nuts. Loved them even when I was in school, they used to be my grab and go snack between classes :), and love them even now, when we get them with breakfast every wednesday! So, I guess I can never get tired of these muffins.

Well, I won’t lie, I bought bananas last weekend and, let them sit there on the fruit stand, just because I wanted to bake these muffins :D.    The recipe source I followed mentioned just 3 bananas for the recipe, but since I had  4, I used them all. They turned out moist and yummy and slightly wet from the inside and I guess the extra banana is responsible for it. However, they are delicious.

Banana nut muffin

INGREDIENTS(12 muffins)

  • 1 cup whole pecans
  • 1 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted and cooled
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 3 ripe bananas, mashed
  • zest of 1 lemon

Pre-heat oven to 350 degree fahrenheit.

Place the pecans in the oven and remove them in about 10 minutes or when they are lightly roasted.  Let them cool and later, chop them into small pieces.

Banana nut muffin

In a bowl combine all the dry ingredients together, flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, zest, nuts and salt. In another bowl combine mashed bananas, eggs, melted butter, lemon juice, and vanilla. Lightly fold, the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients. Do not over mix the batter else, the muffins will turn out to be rubbery and hard.

Spoon the batter into lined muffin tins. Fill each muffin tin to the brim and bake them in the oven for 20-25 minutes or till a toothpick inserted,  comes out clean. Let the muffins cool on a wire rack.

So, I  now have my stash of muffins ready for the week  🙂  and, the only thing I need to take care of now is to make sure they last till the weekend 😛 !!

<Adapted from: Joy of Baking>

One Response to “Banana-nut Muffin”

  1. myninjanaan May 6, 2013 at 11:42 am #

    These look delicious! We usually buy bananas for the sake of eating but 9 times out of 10, we end up with over ripe bananas… I mean that isn’t really a problem because they do end up becoming delicious baked goods 🙂

Leave a Reply

