Nutella Pecan Cookies

16 May

I realized yesterday that its been real long since I shared another of my new experiments with you all, so I started thinking about what would be a good recipe to write about. It wasn’t that difficult a task, since I realized my blog still doesn’t have any chocolate based recipe, which seems such a contradiction as I am an ardent chocolate lover, not to mention, that the first cookies I ever baked were chocolate cookies.

I always have chocolate in my kitchen closet, but yesterday I couldn’t find any 😦 . So, instead of baking chocolate chip cookies I decided to go bold and bake with whatever I could lay my hands on, which was, a small box of Nutella, the delicious hazelnut spread and pecan halves. If you haven’t tried Nutella, you should, it is heaven in a box!  This, is a glimpse of the cookies I whipped up 🙂 Yummmyyy!! They reminded me of chocolate brownies, but were definitely more lighter than brownies. Also, these were just the right amount of sweet for me. They spread a bit while baking but, that might be because I was very impatient and took them out of the refrigerator in 20 minutes 😛 . I  have a strong suspicion that refrigerating the batter for longer duration would have solved that problem.

Nutella Pecan Cookies

INGREDIENTS (12 mid size cookies)

  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup Nutella (I used about 3/4 cup)
  • 2 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup + 1 tbsp all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup roasted and chopped pecans (I used about 3/4 cup, I love pecans)

Pre-heat the oven to 350 degree Fahrenheit.

In a bowl whisk together flour, egg, sugar and nutella. You can use a hand mixer as well.

Nutella Pecan Cookies

 

Gently fold-in the pecan pieces till they are evenly distributed in the batter. Refrigerate the cookie dough for about 2 hours, or, if you are impatient like me, roll the dough into small balls and place them on an un-greased cookie tray for baking. Bake for about 10 minutes and cool on a wire rack.

Nutella Pecan Cookies

Trust me on this, when I tell you that these cookies are irresistible!! I am so glad, I baked only a dozen 😛 because the minute they were cool enough to touch, 4 of them vanished into thin air!! And sometime after dinner another couple of them were gone. Its a miracle I had any left for the photo shoot 🙂 😀

So, till I decide on what I will be baking next, Happy Baking friends!!

(adapted from: wesley & zoe)

One Response to “Nutella Pecan Cookies”

  1. myninjanaan May 18, 2013 at 12:06 pm #

    Nutella is definitely heaven! Your cookies look so good, they look like they would just melt in your mouth! 🙂

Leave a Reply

