Chocolate Brownies

22 Jun

Everyone loves chocolate!! And there are a very few people who can resist a chocolate brownie. Well, I definitely can not, especially the moist, rich and chocolate oozing fudge kind 🙂  Brownies without nuts are good too, but I adore it when the small pieces of nuts pop-up unexpectedly. So, a slice of chocolate brownie and a scoop of vanilla ice-cream is heaven for me. Just the idea of it makes me want to dig into one 😀

Chocolate Brownie

I have made brownies at home before, but never from scratch. When I first started baking I used to be mystified that actual brownies, that taste so good can actually be made out of a box bought at a grocery store and with so little effort too. So, last weekend for the first time, I decided to bake a batch of brownies form scratch and oh boy…am I glad I did 🙂 These turned out to be perfect. The recipe I used is called Katherine Hepburn’s Brownies, probably because it is her recipe. These turned out just like the article promises they will be.

So, without much ado, here is the recipe. I added pecans to the batch that I baked, however, I am pretty sure that they can be baked without any nuts as well!!

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 oz unsweetened baker’s chocolate or 1/2 cup cocoa
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 cup roughly chopped pecans/walnuts

Pre-heat the oven to 325 degree fahrenheit. Butter a 8*8 inch cake pan.

Melt butter and chocolate chunks/or cocoa in a small pan stirring continuously until well blended. Remove from heat and stir-in sugar. Whisk in the vanilla extract and eggs, followed by salt and then the flour. In the end, fold in the pecan pieces.

DSCN3207

Pour the mixture into the well buttered square pan. Bake in the oven for 30-40 minutes. Just like its important to make sure that the brownies do not have more flour than required, we also need to make sure that they are not over-baked. So, even though the recipe source I used recommended baking for 40 minutes, I removed them from the oven when they passed the toothpick test (~ 30-35 minutes)

I should mention here that the brownies were a bit crumbly and difficult to cut, so I suggest using a very sharp knife for slicing, however they came off pretty neatly from the baking dish.

Chocolate Brownie

Just writing this blog makes me want to have one, that’s how good they were!! If you have never tried baking brownies from scratch, this recipe has my thumbs-up, so try them out, and in case you already have a go-to brownie recipe I would say, try them out anyways 🙂 , since one can never be content with just one slice of brownie!!

2 Responses to “Chocolate Brownies”

  1. myninjanaan June 22, 2013 at 2:18 pm #

    Long time no see! What a way to come back, with amazing looking brownies! The picture towards the end, with the brownies in the pan, omg…. they look sooo good and moist!

  2. bakingfever June 30, 2013 at 1:56 am #

    Thanks a lot 🙂 Yes been busy!! They were a totally delicious. Its taking lot of effort to not bake them again 😛

Leave a Reply

