Eggless Fruit Cake

30 Jun

Its a hot weekend here in California, marked with heat wave warnings. Rather than crib about not being able to venture out, I decided to spend my time having a quality baking session. After all, my work’s been keeping me busy and my blog has been crying out to me for a new post.  So, here we are 🙂

Growing up I used to love the loaves of fruit cake my father used to bring in from the local bakery.  And after a recent trip to an Indian grocery store, I had been craving for the Britannia Fruit Cake. I decided not to buy it at the store and try bake one myself, after all being a baker has its advantages 🙂 .  Well, the variety I used to eat as a kid was always a loaf cake and had pineapple essence for flavor. But I couldn’t find pineapple essence at the store, so I decided to go with nutmeg like my recipe source suggested. The result was yummy!!

Fruit Cake

I decided to use the recipe over at The Inner Gourmet, and followed everything to the T, except the flavoring part, where I just went nutmeg and decided to skip cinnamon and the orange and the lemon zest. I am sure those ingredients would have added more flavor to the cake, but the only reason for not using them was because I wanted it to be as closer as possible to the cake I used to have as a kid.

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 14oz can of sweetened condensed milk
  • 2 tbsp granulated sugar
  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 2/3 cup melted butter
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg powder

DSCN3242

Pre-heat the oven to 350 degree fahrenheit. Butter and dust a 9-inch cake pan with flour and set it aside.

Melt 2/3 cup butter and once it is at room temperature, add sugar into it and stir until incorporated. Stir in a can of sweetened condensed milk into it, followed by vanilla essence. Now, add 3/4 cup of water and blend them together.

In a separate bowl sift together all the dry ingredients (flour, baking powder, baking soda and nutmeg). Now, add the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients in parts and blend the mixture till there are no lumps left. Fold in candied fruit into the batter and pour the batter into the baking dish. Garnish with sliced almonds and bake in the oven for 45 minutes. Cool on a wire rack before slicing and serving.

Fruit Cake

I had this recipe added to my favorites for a really long time, and I was surprised by how soft an eggless cake can be. If only I could find pineapple essence, it would have been perfect! But I am glad I found this recipe, its what I had been looking for, my new go-to eggless cake recipe 🙂 Had to share this recipe with you all since the cake turned out to be light, moist and yummy!! I definitely for one had a satisfying baking session after a long time… It made my day. Not me mention I cannot enter the kitchen without getting my hands onto a slice 😛

So, till I get around to my next post have a good time baking!! Take care!!

2 Responses to “Eggless Fruit Cake”

  1. myninjanaan June 30, 2013 at 8:59 pm #

    This looks delicious! Werw you able to find candied fruit at the Indian store as well?
    Btw, my family lives in the Bay Area and they were also complaining about the heat wave!

    • bakingfever July 9, 2013 at 1:57 am #

      haha yes.. this store had just 2 packets of tutti fruti left…so I was just lucky I got it 🙂 Oh that’s great!! So you can understand my plight this weekend then.

Leave a Reply

