Pineapple Cake

23 Dec

Happy holidays friends!! I have been busy for a few months now, well,  busy and then mostly lazy 😀 But then its holiday season now and even a lazy and uninspired bum like me couldn’t stay away from the blogging and baking sessions.

It was my husband’s birthday a month ago and when asked which cake he wanted me to bake, his answer was simple, Pineapple Cake, not the pineapple-upside-down cake but the cake version of the Indian pineapple pastry.  I used to love these as a kid, well, to be truthful, they came second after black forest pastry 🙂 , but then my brother and I together, always ordered both the pastries and shared them. So, this baking session, came with a trip down the memory lane.

Pineapple Pastry

INGREDIENTS

Pineapple Sponge Cake

  • Crushed planko (fine, dry breadcrumbs)
  • 4 large eggs, at room temperature
  • 1 cup granulated white sugar
  • 1/2 cup cornstarch
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/8 tsp salt

Layering & Assembling

  • Fresh, cold whipping cream
  • 1 can sweetened, crushed pineapple

Preparation: Sponge Cake

I used the same recipe for baking the cake, that I had used for the DB challenge: Swedish Prinsesstarta.  If you want it to be more authentic you can replace the vanilla essence with pineapple essence and add some yellow food color.

Pineapple Pastry

Preparation: Cake assembly

With a long knife cut the sponge cake into 2 even layers.  Use a gentle sawing motion to move the knife through the cake instead of trying to pull it through the cake. Use a spatula to help you lift off each layer after you cut it.  Place the bottom most cake layer on the cake platter and sprinkle some pineapple juice from the pineapple can on it. Next, layer on some cold whip followed by the crushed pineapple. Since, both I and my husband love pineapple I made sure that I covered the entire cake with pineapple :). Place the other cake layer on top of it and sprinkle some more pineapple juice on the new layer. Decorate the cake with more whipped, pineapple and cherries if you want. Traditionally every pineapple pastry is topped with a pineapple piece and  a cherry.

Pineapple Pastry

and another one with candles 🙂

Pineapple Pastry
The cake was a huge hit and gone within half an hour 🙂 I still have a long way as far as cake decoration is concerned, but I am learning.  Its a boon that I am blessed with an encouraging family and friends, they are my best critics.

My best wishes to all for the holiday season. Bake on!!

 

One Response to “Pineapple Cake”

  1. myninjanaan December 27, 2013 at 2:23 pm #

    I LOVE pineapple cake! Nobody here in the States seems to make it like they do back in India/Pakistan. Your cake looks phenomenal and I can’t wait to try my hand at it!

Leave a Reply

